Ghana · Musings

Blogger Recognition Award

When I started using WordPress, I noticed that some of the bloggers I followed had blogging awards or something of that sort. The incredibly competitive side of me immediately rose to the challenge but it was soon tempered by the part of me that knew the real reason I decided to write: to have a voice. I later found out that these “awards” were more a way of bloggers acknowledging other bloggers than a competition. I’m sure glad it’s that way instead.

I’ve been nominated a few times, but this is the first time I’m accepting. Thanks to Oge.O, who’s got incredible persistence, for the nomination.

So here are the requirements for accepting this award……….

1. Write a post to show the award

Well……. This is it.

2. Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you

Oge.O as I’ve already mentioned was the one who nominated me. I’ve got a special relationship with her in my mind lol. She was my first follower here and her excitement at my piece “The First Time You Find Love” still warms me heart. She writes really good too, in fact, one thing I love about whatever she writes is she channels her emotions really well through her words. I’m going to stop here now. It’s beginning to sound like a love letter lol. (I lowkey love you Oge)

3. Give a brief story about how you started blogging

Well, I’ve always been able to write in my head lol. Like I’d write a whole story or article in my head but I never bothered to put them down. I was always waiting for the perfect conditions ie a laptop lol. Then last year, Garissa happened and I just knew i had to write something down. To cut a short story long, a friend forwarded it to another blogger, Gerald, who encouraged me to write more. And blog. If you’ve never heard of Garissa, you really need to click on that link. The lives that were lost on that sad day must never be forgotten. Plus, I’ve also learnt that you don’t need perfect conditions to start something. Blogging with my phone has been cumbersome but fun.

4. Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers

Lol. I generally dislike advice. Giving or receiving. So, sorry new bloggers, you’re on your own

5. Nominate (15) bloggers

Actually, I don’t think I can get to 15 so I’ll just nominate those who I can (It’s my blog after all)

Filosofa’s Word (It’s the first blog I check when I log in. I learn a lot and Jill is also a good friend :))

Ravings Of A Single Woman (Vhuvu’s short stories will blow your mind. Literally)

Oluchee (Just recently discovered Oluchee but she made me laugh a few times. That’s always a good sign)

Koko boocro (I wish I could write poetry like she does)

Sinawo Bukani (I can remember once spending a whole day on Sinawo’s blog. I love her stories about daily life)

Kofi Amed (My poetry is still crap, at best, but when I finally get it right, I want to write like this guy)

Fabulous With Glitches (I hate motivational or inspirational messages but I love her brand of motivation. Plus, she’s uber cool)

Lifeofanno (When I read something really good, I develop this virtual affinity with the writer lol and this guy is someone I want to read more of)

Sense Of Touch (With this blog, you don’t need Mills and Boon)

Joseyphina’s World (I love Josephyna’s consistency. One of these days, I’m gonna just dedicate the whole day to her blog)

Gerald (His lovesickness drives him to write the cutest things lol)

Banji (He’s just recently started blogging but his health tips are so on point. Awesome bro too)

9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. When I read something like ” I’ve always been able to write in my head”.. first thought is “OMG how can you do that! Won’t your scalp hurt when you keep scribbling on it?”😯😐I’m just dumb sha😶😔

    You nominated me! Awwwwww😙

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Am proud of him. Am that friend who has lots to say and somehow says it too often in my head that I think you will just know but am actually proud of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

